Marriage-Related Acts

A variety of acts impact marriage-related legal procedures and the judicial decisions made in that regard. Depending upon the individual or couple’s profile, these acts are applied. Not to forget, the judges have broad discretionary power to make the final decision about marriage, conflicts and dissolution. Following is a chronological list of acts as they were formed and integrated into India’s legal framework.

  • • The Converts’ Marriage Dissolution Act, 1866

  • • The Indian Divorce Act, 1869

  • • The Indian Christian Marriage Act, 1872

  • • The Anand Marriage Act, 1909

  • • The Indian Succession Act, 1925

  • • The Child Marriage Restraint Act, 1929

  • • The Parsi Marriage and Divorce Act, 1936

  • • The Dissolution of Muslim Marriage Act, 1939

  • • The Special Marriage Act, 1954

  • • The Hindu Marriage Act, 1955

  • • The Foreign Marriage Act, 1969 and

  • • The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Divorce) Act, 1986.


This digital publication is being offered on the condition and understanding that the information, comments, and views it contains are merely for guidance and reference and must not be taken as having the authority of, or being binding in anyway on the author, editors, publishers, and associates, who do not owe any responsibility whatsoever for any loss, damage or distress to any person - whether or not a subscriber to this site, or purchaser of any product offered by, on account of any action taken or not taken on the basis of this publication.While all reasonable care has been taken to ensure accuracy of all the contents of this site, no person associated with the creation or publishing of this site shall have responsibility for any loss or damages that may be caused to any person due to errors or omissions which may have crept in inadvertently in this publication.All disputes are subject to the jurisdiction of competent courts in Delhi.

Subscribe to Blog via Email